Lyme Flares and Detoxing Part Two: How to Stop a Herxheimer Reaction

Hello Again Dear Readers,

I’ve learned a few things since my last post about detoxing. I think I’ve stopped my detox reaction (aka Herx) in its tracks.

I learned over a year ago that my chronic headaches, muscle and joint pain, fatigue, insomnia, dizziness, digestive problems, and general misery are my body’s reaction to toxicity. When I got the Lyme diagnosis 10 months ago, I finally understood why. But figuring out what to do about it eluded me. Until now.

For this last flare up, my BioSET practitioner did muscle testing and said that mold played a role, as did Bartonella. She did a treatment on me and I felt somewhat better. I was still having headaches after every meal, however.

I researched solutions to Herxes on message boards and from known Lyme doctors. Then I talked to my doctor about my plan to be sure it wouldn’t cause a problem. Here is what I did:

Take a break from anti-microbials

I temporarily stopped all anti-microbial medications, pharmaceutical or natural. This gave my body time to process out the dead microbes and their toxic by-products.

Glutathione

Two days in a row I took Liposomal Glutathione in the following method, as suggested by noted LLMD, Dr. Joseph Burrascano.

  • Alka-Seltzer Gold in water with lemon.
  • Liposomal Glutathione, 1500 MG (may put in juice to make more palatable)

Liquid Diet

One of my worst problems is that I often get intense headaches after eating. I now realize it isn’t WHAT I eat, but the FACT that I eat. Ingesting solid food of any kind overwhelms my body that is already overburdened by chronic infection. So here is my solution.

I consume only liquid meals when I need to seriously detox. They don’t overwhelm the organs of elimination that are already struggling with processing toxins. I add in solid food one meal per day and then more as tolerated. I have vegan protein shakes with fruit for breakfast and vegetable smoothies with garlic and onion for lunch and dinner. I sneak a few rice crackers and olives if I need something salty. This may sound harsh, but it helps me feel better.

Chlorella

I ingest 1 – 2 g of chlorella, 30 minutes before eating. Chorella is a detoxer. Ingesting it 30 minutes before food puts it in your small intestine at exactly the right place for your body’s bile release when you begin eating. In addition to helping digest food, bile contains toxins filtered out by the liver. You want a substance to absorb these before they cause a reaction and are reabsorbed by the intestines.

Buffered Vitamin C (very helpful!!!)

If I feel a reaction after eating, I take 1 tsp (5 grams) buffered Vitamin C powder in water. (I use Nutribiotic Calcium Ascorbate). This is my lifesaver! It stops a reaction in its tracks for me. I repeat this after every meal if I’m feeling sensitive. I can tolerate 15g or more per day in divided doses without adverse reactions.

 Quercetin

I take 500mg quercetin, 3x per day. This is supposed to support healthy histamine levels.

Other helpful things:

  • Warm Epsom salt baths
  • Coffee retention enemas (help purge the liver)
  • Pekana homeopathic detox remedies to support liver, kidneys, and lymphatic system
  • Plenty of fiber and water

Voila! The detox reaction is now mostly gone. I am gradually adding more solid food into my diet. No problems. No headaches, no indigestion. All my symptoms are abating.

I hope this helps someone else out there. Please let me know if it does.

–        Laura

5 responses to “Lyme Flares and Detoxing Part Two: How to Stop a Herxheimer Reaction

  1. Like your details on herx…am so allergic to food stuff and mcs right now…lyme and co., and mold biotoxins….especially vit c/citric acid….tongue feels horrible…did you get waves of nausea while on cholesterpure? I have the gene that doesn’t detox well. Thanks.

    • Hi Maria,

      I’m like you – highly sensitive and allergic. NAET and BioSET energetic desensitization treatments are very helpful for me. I can eat much better thanks to them.
      I didn’t have nausea specifically from the Cholestepure, but I’ve certainly had nausea from other things and as part of detox. I suspect zinc is a stomach irritant for me.
      – Laura

  2. Thanks for the tips, Laura, we will try it. 33 years into lyme.
    Would love to contact you, we have a ton of education and experience.
    Sage

  3. Thank you! This is far more helpful than any protocols my MDs have recommended, including my natural medicine doc!

  4. Thank you from the UK. Most useful information having trawled for the last few days.

Leave a Reply

