#Lyme Disease Nutrient Spotlight: Butyrate

I want to share one of my favorite supplements for managing symptoms related to Lyme Disease called Butyrate.

I’m a chronic headache sufferer, and my most frequent trigger for headaches is eating. I used to think food sensitivities were the problem, but I got to the point where eating solid food of any kind caused me a headache. I began to suspect the problem lied more in the process of eating and the toxic bile release that followed. I also noticed that when my general inflammation level was high, I was sensitive to everything, not just food. When the inflammation subsided, I had no problems eating anything.

My LLND gave me this supplement to calm food reactions. I take 3 or 4 caps of high potency Body Bio brand 600mg Cal/mag butyrate with or just after a meal when I feel the headache coming on. It usually stops the headache within 20 minutes. When I feel good, I try to remember to take a maintenance dose of 3 caps per day. When inflammation is high, I take 8 – 9 caps per day.

So what is butyrate? It’s a fatty acid that helps to combat ammonia, support the health of the digestive tract, and reduce cytokines (inflammation generating signaling compounds), among other uses.  Butyrate is proving to be a remarkable nutrient for a number of conditions.

Here is an excerpt from an article written by Mark Speight, MD.

…Butyrate is an amazing molecule. From cancer and neurodegenerative diseases, to irritable bowel, it is proving to be a powerhouse.

Butyrate is a four carbon chain fatty acid that the intestinal tract uses as food. It is generated from the colon bacteria in conjunction with fiber products. If you don’t have enough healthy bacteria and fiber in your intestinal tract, then the chances are good that you won’t make enough butyrate.

Butyrate has also been shown to slow the beginning of cancer, in fact inducing what we call differentiation (making cells that were previously behaving like cancer cells – rapidly dividing, become normal again). In one study some 20 years ago animals with chemically induced tumors in the colon had reduction in the size and number of their tumors when they were treated with butyric acid enemas twice daily for eight weeks.

More recent research suggests that Butyrate quells the storm of cytokines that causes inflammation in the brain leading to scarring and cell death. By doing so, it is thought that chronic degenerative diseases like Alzheimers, ALS, and others may be slowed or even reversed. In fact, preliminary evidence suggests this is so when this nutrient is given in conjunction with others.

There are different kinds of butyrate. Some butyrates are attached to sodium, others to calcium and magnesium. Most people need calcium and magnesium so calmag butyrate is a reasonably safe option.

Butyrate also helps clean the liver, the gall bladder, and biliary tree in the liver. It also helps clean the bowel, helps control ammonia, and removes unwanted “renegade fats”…

To read the complete article, including references, visit http://www.cfwellness.com/articles/butyrate

–        Laura

Leave a Reply

