Lyme Disease and Genetic Testing Results

Hello to All,

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I had genetic testing done in the spring. My doctor had me do the Gene SNP test which costs about $275.00. I’ll share the pertinent results with you.

Genes with impact:

  1. B Vitamin Metabolism: MTHFR, MTR, MTRR
  2. Phase 1 Detoxification: CYP 1A2*1F (deletion)
  3. Phase 2 Detoxification: GSTM1, GSTT1 (deletion)
  4. Antioxidant Function: PON 1, SOD 2
  5. Bone Density: VDR
  6. Glucose Balance: ACE, IL6, LIPC, PON1, PPARg, PPARGC1A, VDR, ADRB2
  7. Inflammatory Response: IL6
  8. Salt Sensitivity: AGT
  9. Alcohol Metabolism: ADH1C

I feel that this is an important test for me. It confirms what I already knew were some problem areas, alerts me to potential problems, and guides my lifestyle and Lyme Disease treatment.

In terms of nutrition: I need to take methylated B vitamins for the rest of my life, such as folate, P5P, and B12. I need extra vitamin D and plenty of antioxidants. Luckily, I eat loads of fresh vegetables.

In terms of avoidance, I need to watch my salt and sugar (which I already do). And no more drunken shenanigans! ADH1C controls alcohol dehydrogenase. Darn. And interestingly enough, there is a connection between candida toxins and alcohol toxins – a waste product called acetaldehyde. This may be a key to candida treatment for me. I’ll report more on that later.

I have IL-6 problems. Interleukin 6 acts as both a pro-inflammatory and anti-inflammatory cytokine (immunoregulatory protein that affects inflammation). In patients with Lyme neuroborreliosis, inflammation and symptoms of fatigue and malaise occur out of proportion to the relatively low number of spirochetes present. Previous studies have identified interleukin-6 (IL-6) as a candidate molecule for amplification of CNS inflammation in this disease (http://www.neurology.org/content/49/1/147.abstract). This means I need to find safe substances that control this particular inflammatory pathway.

And here’s the biggie: I completely lack the genes for Phase 1 and 2 detoxification. I possess neither. Nada. Pas de tout. Geen (Dutch). This is a big problem. In fact, this is probably the underlying reason some people get chronic Lyme Disease, and other people have numerous tick bites with no symptoms, or have a brief illness. I’m one of those unfortunate people who can’t get rid of infectious agents and toxins. My liver cannot make enough glutathione (a major antioxidant and detox agent). I will have to manually detox for the rest of my life to become and remain healthy.

This confirms my theory that my illness is like a perfect storm: exposure to bacteria and viruses, lowered immune response, exposure to mold, elevated stress, inadequate (American processed food) diet + genetic predispositions = chronic, debilitating illness.

So, detox, detox, and more detox. This will be the crux of successful treatment for me. Finding substances to kill the infections of borrelia, babesia, bartonella, and candida is not hard. Getting good nutrition is not hard (for me). But helping my body to dispose of the waste is proving to be a great challenge. I already use saunas, epsom salt baths, coffee enemas, activated charcoal, homeopathic and herbal drainage remedies, curcumin, etc… And that’s not enough, for heaven’s sake!

Whew! That was a lot of information to process. But I feel an even deeper understanding of my problems that ever. I meet with my doctor again in July and we will formulate my next plan of attack.

-Laura

6 responses to “Lyme Disease and Genetic Testing Results

  1. Hi laura,
    We are on the same page. Thx for your share. Who did u get your genetic dna testing from?
    I have been dealing with this bastard of an illness for over a decade and it almost topk me out. Fortunately thanks to being blessed with a good intuition and a research mind and tenacity that won’t stop.. I’m still alive and practicing today
    I do coffee enemas daily…with a rinse
    After…we found really helps the detox immeasurably, did the mtfp test same problem same genetic problem big help taking the supplements along with p5 p active b6 and from holistic health dr amy yoshiko neurologic al health formula.
    In feb this year I had a ccsvi done fpr autonomic nervous system dysregulation. It turned out I had venous drainage problem s too. Plumbing issues that needed addressing far more than I thought, the jugular vein valves were stuck and got baloon angioplasty. Unfortunate for me the internal jugulars are compressed between 2 bones as well, rare and I have been seeing various practitioner s to help this area before getting the contrast cat scan.
    I use a frequency machine weekly and am considering writing my perspectives as a practitioner and fellow chronic lymie in the townsend letter. Just had to muster up the courage as I feared retaliations from the forces that deny this exists and healing by ”unauthorized” means.
    Thanks for your shares!:-)
    Dr. dahl

    • Hello Dr. Dahl,

      Thanks for your comment. Yes, tenacity and a mind for research help me tremendously with this illness. I got my genetic testing through Gene SNP. It cost $275.00. This helps my doc guide treatment. I’m using a holistic approach and killing infections with herbs. Finding the right herbs and effective detox are proving to be a challenge. Some work and some make me very ill. An individualized approach is a must. Unfortunately there is a lot of trial and error involved. Very frustrating.

      Good luck,
      Laura

      • Hi Laura: So true…Did the SNP tests come with recommendations and interprestations? I have found that in terms of herx, cholesteramine and or activated charcoal
        cand bind with the toxins so they can be excreted. this lessens the misery time.

        Another lifesaver has been the Gerson “Charlotte Gersons on utube and about 90 now…amazing woman”
        is the coffee implant/ enema. For every 3 minutes it’s held the live goes th

  2. Somehow that last post got chopped up. Continuing…every 3 minutes the liver goes thru a complete cycle of dumping toxins/ bile etc. We have also found if you follow up the 15 minutes and have expelled it, then do about 1 quart of water rinse after. The brain fog clears it’s amazing.

  3. Hi Laura,
    It’s been a few months since you wrote this post and I’m wondering if you’ve come up with any more insights on manual detoxification that you’re employing. I’m working with a functional medicine practitioner to figure out my detox/hormones/digestion and we’re pretty sure my genes are playing a big roll in my detox problems (and thus with any Lyme treatment I try). I’m about to do the Gene SNP test, so don’t have the results yet. Just thought I’d get a head start by asking what else you’ve found to help your situation. Many thanks for all of your posts! Lisa

    • Hi Lisa,

      The Gene SNP test revealed that my detox phases 1 and 2 are both impaired. So I take glutathione enhancing supplements, do regular coffee enemas, regular saunas, vitamin C, and take binders like charcoal. I have problems metabolizing B vitamins, so I take methylated B’s. Energetic treatments (such as Bioset) are very helpful, but they don’t hold permanently. I just started a new herbal antimicrobial (Quintessence) and I’m feeling pretty crummy, but I’m not sure if this is a herx or something else.

      My doc and I are now working on my hormones. My thyroid test came back as low. This usually goes hand in hand with other hormonal problems. My next tests scheduled are salivary sex hormones and adrenal gland function. Poor adrenal function is responsible for a host of symptoms, and could certainly make Lyme treatment difficult. Just look up “adrenal fatigue” to see what it’s about. Unfortunately, I won’t have results on these tests for a while.

      It’s a slow process of ruling things out and repairing problems. For me, this process is like peeling the layers off of an onion. You only see the problem on the outside, and when you remove it you begin to see what’s underneath. Luckily, a number of my problems are improving. But I have a ways to go.

      Good luck and be persistent!
      Laura

Leave a Reply

