Lyme Disease and Fatigue Part 2

Hello To All,

Last month I began to experience profound fatigue – way worse than my usual fatigue. I’m glad to say that has improved. I started taking Eleuthero, Co Q 10, and L-carnitine twice per day in the morning and afternoon. Co Q 10 and L-carnitine are substances well known to enhance mitochondrial function. Eleuthero is known to fight fatigue and works as an adaptogen that supports the adrenal glands. Within days of taking these I felt more energetic and I was able to resume my usual (limited) activities. I still tend to get tired between 3 and 5PM daily, but it’s not too bad.

I’m waiting for the results of a salivary cortisol test to measure my adrenal function. I suspect that my adrenal glands are in sorry shape, but I still want the results in black and white. I already know that my thyroid is low, and thyroid and adrenal problems go together. Low adrenal function is linked to a number of health problems, especially fatigue.

“Adrenal fatigue” is a controversial condition. Mainstream medicine only recognizes extreme adrenal malfunction, either Addison’s Disease or Cushing’s Syndrome. A growing number of physicians are realizing that there’s a spectrum of adrenal disorders that can often be corrected with lifestyle, nutritional, and pharmaceutical approaches. For more information on this, I suggest reading Adrenal Fatigue: The 21st Century Stress Syndrome by Dr. James Wilson, or visiting his website, www.adrenalfatigue.org.

Best,

Laura

2 responses to “Lyme Disease and Fatigue Part 2

  1. Good luck with your saliva test! My experience is that very few doctors will diagnose AFS, except for the (more enlightened) integrative doctors and naturopaths. Here is a better link for Adrenal Fatigue – it explains things in more detail than Wilson’s site
    http://adrenalfatiguesolution.com/

  2. After reading Dr. Wilson’s book I knew I was suffering from Adrenal Fatigue and would need compounded Cortisol. I ordered a saliva test ( a couple in fact at different times) from CanaryClub.org. I found they had the best price and were the same lab all the doctors were using. After receiving my results I needed to find a doctor. We sent out feelers in different directions, but the best suggestion came from my husband who suggested that I go to Abrams Royal Pharmacy (which is the best compounding pharmacy in Dallas) and speak to one of the pharmacists and ask for a referral. His thought was they see the prescriptions coming through and probably have an opinion on which doctors are the most careful and thorough with their patients. Bingo! He was right on the money. The pharmacist gave me a great recommendation for a local doctor and it turned out that all of our other ‘feelers’ came back with the same name. So, that is a good suggestion for finding a doctor. If you don’t have a compounding pharmacy in your town you might try calling a few you find on line as most pharmacies ship medications and still may be able to recommend someone close to you.

Leave a Reply

