Lyme Disease, Yeast, and Heavy Metals

Hello Again,

The yeast has returned… Just when I think I have it licked, it comes back. I’ve been through numerous courses of natural and pharmaceutical antifungal treatment and I maintain a good diet, but it always comes back after a couple of months. My doc figures that it’s a biofilm problem, so I’m back on enzymes.

Over the years I’ve experimented with many systemic enzymes for biofilm and yeast. By far the most difficult one is Interfase Plus with EDTA. Which got me thinking… State of the art biofilm treatment involves a chelating agent, like EDTA or lactoferrin, to pull the metals from the biofilm to help degrade it. Yeast and mercury, in particular, have an affinity for one another.

I did 11 months of intravenous chelation with EDTA and DMPS in 2010/2011. It reduced my lead and mercury levels substantially (and my bank account, too). However, my last test revealed that I still have some lead and mercury in me. My doctor says that amount shouldn’t be a problem, but others say any mercury in the body is a problem. I’ve heard people with chronic yeast say that it didn’t go away until they removed the ALL of the dangerous metals. So I’m going forth with more chelation.

In my research, I came across people online and in my Lyme community who use the low and frequent dose protocol developed by Andrew Cutler, PhD, a chemist. See http://www.noamalgam.com/ or www.livingnetwork.co.za. His protocol involves taking low doses of either DMPS or DMSA and later adding alpha lipoic acid (ALA) to clear mercury from the brain. His protocol has several important differences from the others.

  • Instead of taking high dose chelating agents once or twice per month, you take a low dose around the clock for several days in a row. This minimizes redistribution of the metals after the drugs wear off.
  • You must also take ALA which crosses the blood brain barrier.
  • You can do this protocol on your own at home.
  • The protocol is inexpensive.

Any chelation therapy has its risks, but his approach seems safe and logical to me. Also, this protocol is often done with young children who have autism. I’m reading as much as I can about the protocol and deciding if I want to do it. I’ll keep you all posted if and when I start.

Best,

Laura

Leave a Reply

